Tags


As it is in case of real life data backup also comes into action as a proxy of the real data. Here are something I came across in my life different times. One fine afternoon, one of my marketing colleague came to me seeking help of retrieving an excel files saved in his floppy diskette. I tried to copy one of the file from floppy to one desktop computer and it copied without an error but excel failed to open the file. This is one incident, there was some other also…I was taking oracle database exports and store it in a daily backup tape. But after my server crashes I found some of the important transaction table is not loading and ultimately came to know after lot of research that the corruption started in the original running system table and I was not aware of it as because I have not checked every export logs.

So in short what are the main points to remember?

  • Clearly benchmark your backup content types.
  • Clearly benchmark the availability time-span of the backup cycle.
  • Set a backup schedule (Includes the schedule in detail …when to take incremental backup, when to take full backup and when to archive).
  • Fix a responsibilty for review of backup logs.
  • Set a policy for storing this backup logs. Need to also decide the time frame when to purge this logs (Physical destruction of documents or deletion of the same from magnetic storage).
  • As per the benchmark of backup content type create a test setup for the backup.
  • Always keep the backup system detail and resources (mean that…..Backup software, backup software patches as well as OS patches.
  • Most Important is to remember everything has its own life and if you aspire more about the life of your backup media or the content then it will be a big mess.
